I don’t see Equality

Image

 

For the first time, before writing about a certain topic, I was not sure where to begin. This is because, Equality is such a “touchy subject” and I personally do not think people believe in it any longer.

However, the first thing that came to mind after thinking about it for a while was Nelson Mandela. I thought specifically of this great man because of his fight and struggle for equality in our land and all over the world.

On his release from prison he said in one of his speeches, “I have fought against white domination and I have fought against black domination. I have cherished the ideal of a democratic and free society in which all persons live together in harmony and with equal opportunities. It is an idea which I hope to live for and to achieve but if needs be, it is an ideal for which I am prepared to die.”

As many of us know, people all over the world have a strong love and appreciation for Nelson Mandela as our first black president, and his sacrifices he made to end the era of Apartheid. Yet, as a nation we have not respected his deeds enough as right now there is hardly any respect left for one another.

I have not come across a situation where I had to deal with repugnant behaviour, nor have I found myself unable to provide equal care to my patients. I still have a lot of work ahead of me so this may change although I am hoping to treat everyone as I would like to be treated.

On a day to day basis, especially at campus, we are faced with gender, race, culture and sexuality differences. People say that they are not racist and some say they love “gays” yet when they stop at a robot and an African person approaches they lock their doors and roll up their windows as fast as possible. On social networks, we constantly see pictures of superstar Justin Bieber being called gay as if it is a big joke.

 

When did the world become this way? And when will it ever stop? It was supposed to have stopped already and people say that they are not racist or do not judge one another, yet it is still happening every day.

Society has a created an image of what is right and what is wrong. For example, it is wrong to be homosexual and it is wrong to marry someone from a different race.

We grow up thinking and believing this so it just gets passed down to future generations. I find this kind of thinking very small mined of people, to love and care only for your own, to be closed minded to other experiences and opinions.

Personally, I don’t believe that the equality we should be living in will be achieved any time soon.

To conclude I would like to leave you with the famous Mahatma Gandhi quote as at this moment it may be the only possible change that can make a difference.

“Be the change you want to see in the world.”

6 thoughts on “I don’t see Equality

  1. Another good piece Charde! It is true that true equality will probably never be achieved like the one portrayed from Nelson Mandela’s eyes. To make this possible we would strictly require and possess his sense of mind, duty and sacrifice. And we must also act imperatively to achieve equality, without any excuse. In other words, in this day and age we need to “actualize” an ideal mind.

    However, if we each take in a bit/piece of Nelson Mandela’s ideal, then we can start making it happen from where we are. Because no matter how small the effect, it still has an effect. Then we can attempt to realize equality.

    This quote, I believe, is a problem not only in the healthcare world but also everything else.

    “A reliable way of making people believe in falsehoods is frequent repetition, because familiarity is not easily distinguished from truth.” – Daniel Kahneman

    Jackie

  2. Hi Charde. Great post…again. I’m not going to say much because I think you’ve covered a lot of ground yourself. The one thing I would suggest is that even though we may not see equality on a daily basis, it’s something that we can strive for. It’s something that Mandela knew would not come easily and which he strove for nonetheless. The quote you end with is how we can achieve it. If each of us is prepared to live the life we say we want to see in others, then it’s a first step to achieving it.

  3. Great blog, I agree with everything you said. This inequality blights the legacy of “A New South Africa” that Nelson Mandela fought and strived for. People are judgemental in some aspects and then cling to religion to defend certain beliefs. Hypocritical I say.

Leave a Reply

